Wilco Announces New EP Hot Sun Cool Shroud

Wilco is gearing up to drop a new EP called Hot Sun Cool Shroud, just in time for the Solid Sound Festival at the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art.

The EP will be available digitally on June 28 through dBpm Records. Festival-goers can snag a special white vinyl version and use ink stamps to create their own cover art, inspired by Kathleen Ryan’s designs. Below are the tracks and an example of the artwork.

“It’s always exciting to have something fresh for Solid Sound,” Jeff Tweedy shared. “This year, we’ve got an EP that feels like summer nights—starting hot like midday heat, with some edgy instrumentals, and ending with a cool breeze. The tracks on Hot Sun Cool Shroud are more intense than what we’ve done recently, including a love song that melts you like ice cream in the sun. It captures all aspects of summer, even those brooding cicadas.”

The 2024 Solid Sound lineup features Wilco along with Wednesday, Ratboys, Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, Soul Glo, Water From Your Eyes, Iris DeMent, and others. Besides music performances, there will be Hrishikesh Hirway’s live Song Exploder podcast show, John Hodgman’s Comedy Cabaret acts, live painting by Steve Keene, and spontaneous interviews.

I think it’s cool when bands release unique versions of their music at festivals.

This summer’s tour supports Wilco’s 2023 album Cousin, with Leah Senior, Cut Worms, and Katie Cruel opening on select dates. They also recently honored David Bowie’s legacy by covering “Space Oddity” for what would have been his 77th birthday.

Hot Sun Cool Shroud EP

01 Hot Sun
02 Livid
03 Ice Cream
04 Annihilation
05 Inside the Bell Bones
06 Say You Love Me

Noah Mitchell
Noah Mitchell
Noah Mitchell is a senior music writer at SongsDetails.com. Noah has been passionately covering the music industry for over five years, with a particular focus on live performances and the latest updates on artists.